The Great Non-Fiction Readalike: If You Like This, You’ll LOVE That!

When: 
Sunday, June 24, 2012 - 10:30am to 12:00pm
Calendar Download to my calendar
204C
Presenters: 
Speaker: Alene Moroni, Manager, Selection and Order, King County (Wash.) Library System
Speaker: Anna Mickelsen, Reference Librarian, Springfield City (Mass.) Library
Speaker: Kaite Stover, Kansas City Public Library
Speaker: Robin Nesbitt, Technical Services Director, Columbus (Oh.) Metropolitan Library
Speaker: Stephanie Chase, Head, Programming & Outreach, Multnomah County Library
Description: 

As the popularity of non-fiction reading for pleasure continues to grow, librarians have a great opportunity to grow their reader’s advisory skills. What draws patrons to non-fiction? And what do they want to read next? Based on an annual program of the same name for fiction at Book Expo America, The Great Non-Fiction Readalike: If You Like This, You’ll LOVE That!, this panel of five librarians will cover major trends in popular non-fiction publishing, recommending titles of current interest and with pre-publication buzz -- and what off your back list will satisfy your patrons while they’re on hold.

Meeting Type: 
Content Area: 
Type of Library: 
Cost: 
Included with conference registration
Last Updated: 
Tuesday, May 15, 2012 - 3:42pm PDT
Attendees: 
139 people interested in attending (View all)

Comments

I truly enjoyed this session.  The reading suggestions are top-notch and the enthusiasm of the presenters was infectious.  I was lucky to answer a question, got a bag load of books and have shared them with my department staff.